Week 16 Training Ohtawara Marathon 2016

I got back to 5 runs this week but it was not a particularly hard week. Even still, I could not hit all the paces on the Sunday run and had to miss one interval. I now have just over 2 weeks to my marathon. I think that I will be OK on the day,  but it is unfortunate that I missed several key workouts over the previous three weeks.

Week Total

  • Number of runs: 5
  • Distance: 77.9 km
  • Time:    7 hours 13 mins

Monday 31st October

  • RHR: 43
  • HRV: 82
  • Weight: 83.6kg

Monday, as always, is a rest day and I took it easy. I had planned to go for a swim after work but daughter #2 was down with a cold and I had to head straight home. The extra rest was very welcomed.

Tuesday 1st November

  • RHR: 42
  • HRV: 77
  • Weight: 83.3kg
  • Run: MAF
  • Distance: 10.8km
  • Time: 1 hour 3 mins
  • Avg HR: 136
  • Avg Cadence: 171

I went to my osteopath, Mizugami sensei, after work and then hit the streets. My hamstring was gradually feeling better and I was able to manage the run with no issues.

Wednesday 2nd November

  • RHR: 45
  • HRV: 78
  • Weight: 82.6
  • Run: MAF
  • Distance: 10.3km
  • Time: 57 mins
  • Avg HR: 140
  • Avg Cadence: 171

The plan for Wednesday evening was

  • First 5k @ MAF, the rest @ 5:20 pace

It was the first time that I had run at this pace since I admitted to myself that there might be something wrong with my hamstring and went back to Mizunami sensei. Harrisson was clearly easing me back into it. The run went fine and I felt good after it.

Thursday 3rd November

  • RHR: 48
  • HRV: 73
  • Weight: 82kg

3rd November is a holiday in Japan as it is Culture Day and we all need a bit of culture. Harrisson had written on my chart

  • A 30min swim would be very nice here

so I duly obliged and headed off to Esforta Sports Club in Shibuya for a 1.1km swim in the morning. The pool was empty and it was a lovely way to spend a Thursday morning.When I got home I made myself a delicious juice with lots of fruit and vegetables from my new juice book. I was beginning to feel like I was recovering.

9a3029b2-7134-4fa8-bed9-25ee64f8f227

Friday 4th November

  • RHR: 42
  • HRV: 73
  • Weight: 82.3kg
  • Run: Progressive Run
  • Distance: 17km
  • Time: 1 hour 34 mins
  • Avg HR: 142
  • Avg Cadence: 172
Friday I was back at Mizugami sensei for the third time in a week and my hamstring was definitely improving. The scheduled run afterwards was as follows:
  • First 10k easy @ MAF, then 1k @ 5:10, 1k @ 4:50, 2k @:4:30, back to easy
 It was a fair bit harder than the other runs that I had done in the last week and the 2km at 4:30 pace really felt hard. However, I did manage to complete it and I was still feeling good afterwards with little soreness.

Saturday 5th November

  • RHR: 48
  • HRV: 73
  • Weight: 82.4kg
  • Run: Easy Run with the boy
  • Distance: 5.3km
  • Time: 35 mins
  • Avg HR: 119
  • Avg Cadence: 169

+

  • Run: 8km MAF Run w/ 6 x 20 sec strides
  • Distance: 8.3km
  • Time: 48 mins
  • Avg HR: 137
  • Avg Cadence: 169

Saturday was planned to be a 12km MAF run with strides but I had a very rare opportunity to run with my son so I took it and split the run into 2. It was good running with the boy even though we started in the evening. He ran at a steady pace and my heart rate stayed nice and low. After that I went down to the Tamagawa for another 8km. It all went well, even the strides, and I felt not reoccurrence of the soreness in my hamstring.

Sunday 6th November

  • RHR: 53
  • HRV: 75
  • Weight: 83kg
  • Run: Long Run with intervals
  • Distance: 26.2km
  • Time: 2 hours 15 mins
  • Avg HR: 156
  • Avg Cadence: 177

ithlete-pro-6-nov-2016

Sunday I woke to find that my heart rate was slightly elevated but my HRV was still in a good place. Actually, my HRV has been in the green for 9 consecutive days and was still trending upwards. It is clear that the reason was that I had recovered well since I had stopped the high intensity workouts for a week. That made me feel good knowing that I was not over trained and that I would be in good shape for my marathon after my taper. The only issue was that I had missed several key workouts and I could not squeeze them all into the remaining 2 weeks.

I managed to get up early on Sunday and hit the road by 7:20am. That was very fortunate as it was one of those freak days in November when it was hot and sunny. Unfortunately it is not such a freak day anymore and they are becoming far too regular. My legs did not feel sore but they were heavy and my heart rate was quickly going well above MAF. I made it down to the river where the plan for the day was as follows:

  1. 1 km @ 5:25 3km @ 13:15
  2. 1 km @ 5:25 3km @ 13:15
  3. 1 km @ 5:25 3km @ 13:15
  4. 1 km @ 5:25 3km @ 13:15
  5. 1 km @ 5:25 3km @ 13:15

I found it very tough and only managed to complete 4 of the intervals and the last one was well off the pace

  1. 1 km @ 5:16 3km @ 13:15
  2. 1 km @ 5:11 3km @ 13:15
  3. 1 km @ 5:12 3km @ 13:15
  4. 1 km @ 5:17 3km @ 13:33

Although there was a big headwind for the 4th interval, it wasn’t the only reason that I slowed down and did not attempt the 5th one. My legs were tired and heavy and I felt that it would have taken too much out of me 2 weeks before my race and opted to run home at MAF.

Now I have only 2 weeks and 3 days to the race and only a handful of training runs left. I hope that I have done enough over the last 6 months to make it all worthwhile.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

