Week 11 Training Ohtawara Marathon 2016

I arrived back in Japan from Ireland at 7:30am on Friday morning, 23rd September. I stayed awake all day in an effort to beat jet lag. The plan failed. I have been having trouble sleeping all week. Going to bed at reasonable time but waking up again at 1:30am and not sleeping again until the morning. I definitely find that jet lag gets worse as I get older. I did however manage to get in a few good runs and finish the week well. Hopefully I will have turned the jet lag corner and I will be back to morning runs this week.

Week 11 was also good for some other reasons.  On Tuesday, ithlete announced that their subscription service, ithlete Pro, was now synchronised with Garmin Connect. I have been subscribing to ithlete Pro for the last 18 months and have been asking them for this function. Needless to say that I was delighted to get this announcement. What it means is that I get a Garmin Training Load score for each day I run and I can see clearly how certain runs will impact my HRV and my Resting Heart Rate. Now I just need ithlete to add alcohol consumption and I will have the whole package.

This is how ithlete Pro showed my Long Run on Saturday. I have a Garmin Training Load of 423.

ithlete-pro-1st-oct-2016

ithlete Pro Saturday 1st October – Long Run

And this is how ithlete Pro showed my Easy Run on Sunday. I have a Garmin Training Load of 164. It was also good to see that my HRV increased the day after my Long Run, although Harrisson has pointed out that sometimes there is a delay with the impact on the body.

ithlete-pro-2nd-oct-2016

I also managed to get in some shopping for my fall training and racing. A few weeks ago I had bought a pair of Adizero Takumi Sen online. I ordered the 29cm as I had been wearing 29cm Adizero Boston Boost. Unfortunately the Takumi Sen were too small and I could not return them. So I popped into the Adidas shop in Shibuya on Sunday evening and bought a new pair of Adizero Boston Boost. This time 29.5cm. I tried to buy Adizero Japan, which are lighter, but even the 29.5cm shoe was too tight for me. I was happy with purchase and the all black finish.

unknown

Adizero Boston Boost

I then crossed the road to Under Armour and bought a tight training shirt. I like these shirts, not because the tight fit displays my great upper body, but because they don’t cut the nipples of me when I am trying to do Harrisson’s hard intervals. I expect that there will be a lot of hard intervals and tempo runs on Harrisson’s training plan for me over the next month as I count down the last 7 weeks to Ohtawara.

unknown-1

Finally, the other good news that I have to share is that I got selected to run Tokyo Marathon on the 26th February 2017. It is quite amazing as there is a 13:1 ratio of people who applied to those who got selected. I did not get selected for the last few years so I am very much going to enjoy next year’s race and especially the new finish in front of Tokyo station.

Week Total

  • Number of runs: 5
  • Distance: 82.5km
  • Time: 7 hours 53 mins
  • September Total: 257km

Monday 26th September

  • RHR: 45
  • HRV: 77
  • Weight: 831kg

Monday, as usual, was a rest day and I certainly needed one.

Tuesday 27th September

  • RHR: 44
  • HRV: 69
  • Weight: 83.5kg
  • Run: Easy
  • Distance: 10.3km
  • Time: 1 hour 3 mins
  • Average Heart Rate: 135
  • Average Cadence: 170

Totally failed to get up in the morning as planned but did manage to get out to the Tamagawa on Tuesday night for an easy 10km run. Nothing too strenuous and I felt good after it.

Wednesday 28th September

  • Weight: 82.9kg
  • Run: Hard Intervals
  • Distance: 17km
  • Time: 1 hour 39 mins

Again I failed miserably to get up and run on Wednesday morning (I even forgot to measure my HRV and RHR) but I found myself again on the Tamagawa that evening doing my hard intervals. Harrisson’s plan called for

3k WU
WU drills
3 x 400m (1:50 / 1:40 / 1:30) with 60s rest between them, 2min rest (walking)
Tempo portion (without break)
3k progressive (1k @ 4:15, 1k @ 4:10, 1k @ 4:05), 3min very easy jog (6~7min pace)
2 x ( 2k progressive -> 1k @ 4:15, 1k@ 4:00 pace + 2min very easy jog)
1k @ 4:05 pace,
WD
As I got to the Tamagawa I noticed that there was a slight wind down river so I decided to do the 3km down wind and hope for the best. The results were as follows:
3 x 400m – 1:39 against wind/ 1:37 with wind/ 1:31 against wind
3km with wind – 4:12/ 4:08/ 4:03
2km against wind – 4:20/ 4:18
2km 1.2km against wind .8km with wind – 4:19/ 4:25
1km with wind – 4:06 

 

The run was OK up until I had to turn around and run into the wind for the first 2km where I found it very tough indeed. The humidity was very high and I really struggled. It didn’t get much better for the second 2km either although some of it was with the wind. I really felt like a spent force. I managed to get back on form for the last 1km but it felt like too little too late.

Thursday 29th September

  • RHR: 48
  • HRV: 72
  • Weight: 82.6kg
  • Run: Easy
  • Distance: 8.4km
  • Time: 50 mins

Thursday was am easy day and I ran 8km with 5km at MAF and the last 3km at 5:45 pace. It is quite interesting going from MAF ton 5:45 pace. Sometimes I can run MAF and still be at a 5:45 pace but at the end of a long summer of training I have to up the pace a bit and it felt good.

Friday 30th September

  • RHR: 52
  • HRV: 68
  • Weight: 83.5kg

Friday I had a real life event and could not run. Well, I could have run if I was able to get my ass out of bed in the morning. But I was not, so I didn’t. Some days it is as simple as that.

Saturday 1st October

  • RHR: 46
  • HRV: 73
  • Weight: 83.1kg
  • Run: Long Run with 5 x 1km at 4:05 pace
  • Distance: 32.8km
  • Time: 3 hours

The Long Run for this week was scheduled to be on Sunday and was to be as follows:

First 5k @ MAF, then 5 x (4k easy @ 5:30 ~ 6:00 pace + 1k @ 4:05 pace)
1k to 3k WD (very easy)
However, I took a look at the weather forecast on Friday afternoon and saw that it would be cool and cloudy on Saturday and hot and sunny on Sunday. I quickly switched the days. I had failed to complete this run last week as it was too hot and I was suffering with jet lag (I know, enough already with the jet lag) and I was hopping not to have the same experience.
The run itself went well. I took 2 gels with me but ended up only taking one before the 3rd 1km, which ended up being my fastest. I was very pleased to get all the 1kms under 4:05:
4:00/ 3:58/ 3:52/ 4:02/ 3:59

Sunday 2nd October

  • RHR: 51
  • HRV: 77
  • Weight: 82.6kg
  • Run: Easy Run
  • Distance: 14km
  • Time: 1 hour 20 mins

img_0640

As I missed the 14km run on Friday, I decided to do it on Sunday. The plan was as follows:

First 7k @ MAF, the rest @ 5:30 pace
I won’t lie, I had a few beers with my Irish friends on Saturday night and that may have impacted the time that I got up on Sunday morning. You can read in between the lines as much as you like but I came home by train. Anyway, it was close to noon when I got out the door and headed for the Tamagawa. Everything went well and I enjoyed the sunshine and all the people out exercising and looking for Pokemon. I really should have taken a photo of them.
6 thoughts on “Week 11 Training Ohtawara Marathon 2016

Leave a Reply

