Week 3 Training Ohtawara Marathon 2016

The second week of our holiday was a little bit more easy paced and I was able to fit in a few more runs. Nothing too long, or over an hour, but it was still great to keep on track.

Week Total

  • Number of runs: 5
  • Distance 48.5km
  • Time: 5 hours 5 mins

1-7 Aug

Monday 1st August

  • RHR: 47
  • HRV: 76
  • Run: Easy
  • Distance: 8km
  • Time: 55 mins
  • Average Heart Rate: 142
  • Average Cadence: 157

 

DSC_0657

On Monday morning I woke up in beautiful Danang. While the rest of the family were catching up on their sleep I slipped out and ran an easy 8km on China Beach. Well I say easy, but it is never easy running on a beach. It is however, extremely enjoyable. The rest of the day I spent doing some laps in the pool and some strength training on the beach. And drinking frozen daiquiris.

Tuesday 2nd August

  • RHR: 44
  • HRV: 80
  • Run: Easy
  • Distance: 8km
  • Time: 52 mins

DSC_0698

On Tuesday I got up a bit earlier and did the same run on China Beach but in the opposite. It was another glorious day in paradise.

Wednesday 3rd August

  • RHR: 49
  • HRV: 71
  • Run: Hard Intervals on the road
  • Distance: 11km
  • Time: 1 hour 6 mins
  • Average Heart Rate: 153
  • Average Cadence: 151

IMG_5262

On Wednesday I got up at 6am, my earliest yet, as I had to do some hard intervals before it got too hot or before the streets got too crowded. I need not have worried. Although the streets were crowded at 6:30am there was nobody on the long footpaths except the landscapers. The plan that Harrisson had sent over on Sunday evening called for 3min @ 3:45, 45s rest, 90s @ 3:45, 3min active rest. Repeat 3 more times. This was going to be my hardest session yet. I managed to kept near pace for the first 2 intervals but after that it just got very hard and my pace slipped and slipped. I think that a combination of no breakfast, heat and all the curbs I had go down and up finally wore me out. Still I was happy to complete a hard run outside in the middle of my holiday. I spent the rest of the day in the pool and really enjoyed it.

Thursday 4th August

  • RHR: 47
  • HRV: 80
IMG_5309

Hanoi Cathedral

Thursday we got up at 5am to make our 9am flight to Hanoi. Everything went to plan and we were set up in our new hotel at 11am. We then had lunch in the hotel and spent the afternoon wandering around the old quarter of Hanoi and visited the Hanoi Hilton. It was quite special. No running.

Friday 5th August

  • RHR: 46
  • HRV: 75

DSC_0878

On Friday we had a 12 hour day trip to Ha Long Bay.  It was a wonderful trip but it meant that I could not run for the second day in a row.

Saturday 6th August

  • RHR: 54
  • HRV: 63
  • Run: Easy
  • Distance: 11.4km
  • Time: 1 hour 3 mins
  • Average Heart Rate: 152
  • Average Cadence: 170

IMG_5382

Saturday was our last day in Vietnam and at 2pm we were flying back to Tokyo. I got up at 6am with the notion of doing the hard intervals around the lake near out hotel, Ho Hoan Kiem. Once I got out the door, I realised that that was not going to be possible. The place was full of people. There was a full scale market going on the side streets around our hotel and the lakeside was filled with people doing Tai Chi and walking. At a nearby square there was a group of 100 women dancing the maccerena. I decided that there was no point in crashing into people and settled for an easy and pleasant run for one hour.

Sunday 7th August

  • RHR: 48
  • HRV: 76
  • Weight: 84.9
  • Run: Hard Repetitions
  • Distance: 10km
  • Time: 1 hour 8 mins
  • Average Heart Rate: 143
  • Average Cadence: 141
IMG_5385

Homemade Umeshu

On Sunday I woke up in Tokyo for the first time in almost 2 weeks. I was glad to see that my weight had only increased by 1.5kg during the time that I was away. This was to quickly change over the next few days. I had a bunch of things to do in the morning and afternoon in order to get ready to go back to work on Monday and it was nearly 7pm when I got out to do my run. This was to be the third time for me to do the repetitions with the isometric shut and I finally did it correctly and boy did it hurt. The plan is to do 1min @ 3:30 pace or faster, 30s rest, 90s bodyweight isometric (static hold) squat, 1min @ 3:30 pace or faster, 3min rest. Repeat 3 more times.Trying to get up and run at a 3:30 pace after squatting for 90 seconds is nothing short of agony and it got harder and harder to get to pace. In the last rep I got there just before the 60 seconds were up.

4 thoughts on “Week 3 Training Ohtawara Marathon 2016

Leave a Reply

