Week 2 Training Ohtawara Marathon 2016

This week was the start of my holiday to Vietnam so it impacted my training a lot and will impact my blog as well.

Week Total

  • Number of runs: 3
  • Distance:  26km
  • Time: 2 hours 45 minutes
  • July Total: 307km

25 - 31 Jul

Monday 25th July

  • RHR : 45
  • HRV: 77
  • Weight: 83.4kg

Today was a rest day and I went to Esforta Sports in Shibuya and swam 1,100m and did some strength training.

Tuesday 26th July

  • RHR : 44
  • HRV: 81
  • Weight: 83.3kg
  • Run: Hard Intervals 
  • Distance: 12km
  • Time: 1:05:00
  • Average Heart Rate: 154   
  • Average Cadence: 166
DSC_0013

View from Hotel Room – Saigon River.

We were flying to Ho Chi Minh City on Tuesday night so I got out early and did my Hard Repetitions. The plan was to do 2 sets of 6 x 90s @ 3:45 pace with 30s rest between reps and 3min super duper easy jogging between the two sets. However, being first thing in the morning and with no breakfast, I found it very hard to keep the pace. I still was very happy to complete them before leaving.

Wednesday 27th July

  • RHR 52
  • HRV 63
DSC_0026

Ben Thanh Market. If they don’t got it, you don’t need it.

We got into HCM at 10pm on Tuesday night and made it to our hotel shortly after 11pm. So it was quite late when we got to bed and my HRV and RHR showed the results. We spent the day wandering around Ben Thanh Market and Dong Khoi street and had a great time. No running.

Thursday 28th July

  • RHR 47
  • HRV 70
DSC_0191

Standing outside the South Vietnam Cabinet Room

By RHR and HRV recovered a bit and we went on a small tour of the Reunification Place and the War Remnants Museum. No running.

Friday 29th July

  • RHR: 50
  • HRV: 70
  • Run: Treadmill Hard Repetitions
  • Distance: 7km
  • Time: 50 minutes
  • Average Heart rate: 145

IMG_5074

RHR and HRV were still holding up well and we went on a trip to the Floating Market on the Mekong Delta. When we came home I went to the hotel gym and did some hard intervals on the treadmill for 50 mins. The plan was to do 1min @ 3:30 pace or faster, 30s rest, 90s bodyweight isometric (static hold) squat, 1min @ 3:30 pace or faster, 3min rest. Repeat 3 more times. Unfortunately there was somebody on the good treadmill when I got there and the treadmill I had only went up 16km/hr or 3:45 pace. I did the intervals anyway but I did not get the isometric squat right. That would take a few more tries.

Saturday 30th July

  • RHR: 59
  • HRV: 57
  • Run: Treadmill Hard Repetitions
  • Distance: 7km
  • Time: 50 minutes
  • Average Heart rate: 148
  • Average Cadence: 174

IMG_5150

On Saturday morning we went to see the Cu Chi Tunnels near Ho Chi Minh City. It was a half day tour and when we came back to the hotel we took a rest and then went back out to explore the city for the last time. That evening I went back to the gym and did the same Hard Repetitions again, but this time on the good treadmill and I was able to set the speed to 17.1km. I was able to keep the pace but I still got the squats all wrong.

Sunday 31st January

  • RHR: 52
  • HRV: 69

DSC_0548

On Sunday was flew from Ho Chi Minh City to Danang and stayed at a nice beachside hotel. I did some laps in the pool but no running.

 

Leave a Reply

