Ohtawara Marathon 2016 Base Training Week 8

I am very glad to have gotten through week 8 of Base Training, even if it has not been my best week. Many real life events have gotten in the way of training but I did manage to run 3 long runs, getting my weekly total to 70km and my June today to 335km. I also so 81kg on the morning scales for the first time since last year and that can only be a good time. Unfortunately I only saw it on Friday morning and it returned to 83kg for Saturday and Sunday. My Resting Heart Rate and Heart Variability returned to good numbers for me towards the end of the week and I am hoping that it shows that my fitness is in the right place to start marathon training in a couple of weeks. The item I missed most this week was the Strength Training and I will need to pick that up again for week 9.

Week Total

  • Number of runs: 3
  • Distance:  70.9km
  • Time:   7 hours 10 minutes
  • June: 335km

Monday 27th June

  • RHR : 56
  • HRV: 70
  • Weight: 83.6 kg

IMG_4836

 

On Sunday night, right after I completed my week 7 Blog Post, I headed off to Clann Irish Pub in Jiyugaoka to watch Ireland play France in the last 16 of the Euros 2016. 10 or 12 of my Irish and Welsh friends turned up to watch what turned out to be a cracking game. Ireland score from a penalty in the first 2 minutes and played very well for the first half. For the second half, however, we were overrun by the French and they won 2-1. I screamed consistently at the TV hoping that it would make a difference and in the end it only impacted my voice. Even on the way home I felt that it was gone and when I woke up on Monday morning, I could hardly speak. Suffice to say that I canceled my run on Monday and concentrated on recovery.

Tuesday 28th June

  • RHR : 41
  • HRV: 78
  • Weight: 83.4 kg

Tuesday I was still felt the worse for wear, although my RHR and HRV were back where I like to see them, and again I concentrated on recovery. I had hoped to start running again but my voice was still a shadow of its former self and I knew that if I pushed it I could be looking for a long lay off.

Wednesday 29th June

  • RHR : 47
  • HRV: 73
  • Weight: 83.1 kg

Wednesday I was delayed by a real life event and could not get home in time to start my run. I decided against a short one and would go to bed early and try again on Thursday.

Thursday 30th June

  • RHR : 43
  • HRV: 70
  • Weight: 83.2 kg
  • Run: 135 min MAF Run w/ 8 x 15 sec strides
  • Distance: 22.2km
  • Time: 2 hr 15 mins
  • Average Heart Rate:  139
  • Average Cadence: 172

On Thursday I managed to clear my calendar and get out for a two hour run after work. It was hot and humid and I could not keep my heart rate at MAF most of the time but it was good to be back in action and I managed to complete 335km for the month of June. I also managed to complete the Strides on the way home.

Friday 1st July

  • RHR : 45
  • HRV: 79
  • Weight: 81.8 kg

On Friday I had a real life event so not a lot to report except that I saw my weight drop to under 82kg for the first time since last year. Hopefully that this a good sign and I can get back to this weight a bit more consistently.

Saturday 2nd July

  • RHR : 45
  • HRV: 77
  • Weight: 83.3 kg
  • Run: 135 min Aerobic Run w/ 8 x 15 sec strides
  • Distance: 22.5km
  • Time: 2 hr 15 mins
  • Average Heart Rate:  146
  • Average Cadence: 170

IMG_0469

On Saturday morning I was a little groggy when I woke up so I did not start an early morning run. Instead it was 10:40am and 27 degrees Celsius when I hit the road. It was too hot and humid to run MAF so I concentrated on my cadence and headed off down to the Tamagawa. The sky was a little overcast and grey for most of the time at times the sun came out and I really felt it. I managed to get to 12km without stopping to buy a drink but from there on it was a war of attrition and I ended up buying four 500ml bottles in the final 10km. Over I did have enough energy left to start my 8 x 15 sec Strides as I ran across the Futakobashi bridge. I do feel that my form is getting better when I run these but who knows. I guess that Harrisson will tell me in a couple of weeks.

Sunday 3rd July

  • RHR : 44
  • HRV: 81
  • Weight:  83.2kg
  • Run: 160 min Aerobic Run
  • Distance: 26.2km
  • Time:  2hr 40mins
  • Average Heart Rate: 143
  • Average Cadence: 169

IMG_0472

It was hot, 30 degrees Celsius, and very humid. Every time I go out for a run in weather like this I find myself singing the Bob Dylan song Where are you tonight (Journey Through Dark Heat) – And a lonesome bell tone in that valley of stone/Where she bathed in a stream of pure heat. Well that is exactly how I felt as I left my house this morning. Running beside the Tamagawa river gave the illusion of being cool but it was just an illusion. I got hotter and hotter as I bathed in my own stream of pure heat. The plan had been to get up by 6am and start running by 6:30am when things might have been a bit cooler, but the best laid plans of mice and men …. I finally got up a little after 7am to great RHR and HRV.

ithlete 3 July 2016

ithlete Pro was telling me to go for it but it was already 8:30am when I hit the road and the sun was high in the sky. This was only my third run this week and I wanted to get out and do some distance to bring up my weekly mileage but also to start increasing my long runs. I would like to doing 30km long runs at this point of my base building, for no other reason than it is a nice round number, but I still have a bit to go to get up to that and it may be tough in this heat. Still it is good to see my RHR under 45 and my HRV above 80 and I am looking to keep it there.

IMG_0471

I did manage to get up to the 10km point near Izumi on the Tokyo side of the Tamagawa before I stopped to buy a 500ml of water which I downed in about 2 mins. As I was standing by the vending machine I read the above poster for a missing pet. I always find these posters very sad as I know the dog owner must be in terrible distress for the the last week. After finishing my water I pushed on up to the 13km point where I took the above photo of the weir on the Tamagawa. Normally I run up to this point on the Kawasaki side which is Fudabashi, but today I was on the Tokyo side and I noticed there was a lot more action. Before I took my photo I saw birds diving for fish into the water. I waited a few minutes to see if I could get a photo of them fishing but it seems that they already gotten what they came for and were now taking a rest.

All the way back I tried to run 3km ~ 4km before stopping for a drink. It really was so hot that even this meagre goal was a challenge. Finally I made down to Futakotamagawa in one piece and took a rest under the 246 bridge until I cooled down a bit and headed off for the last 5km home during which I consumed another 2 bottles of sports drinks. I had thought about doing some Strides on the way over Futakobashi bridge but I was just not able for them and I was satisfied with getting 26km for the day and the best part of 71km for the week.

After I got home I finally made this bad boy with Apple, Carrot, Beet, Lime, Berries and Turmeric. It tasted great and hopefully will lead to a fast recovery from this weekend’s runs.

IMG_4846

 

8 thoughts on “Ohtawara Marathon 2016 Base Training Week 8

  1. In summer your weight will fluctuate a lot because of water retention.
    Dont forget the strength exercises next week.
    Im happy to see you’re very consistent on your strides

Leave a Reply

