Ohtawara Marathon 2016 Base Training Week 7

Week 7 saw me hit another 100km week and bring my monthly total over 300km. I also managed to get in three strength sessions, watch Ireland beat Italy 1-0 in the Euros 2016 at 5am, run 16km with Jeremy before breakfast on a Friday, saw 82kg on the scales for the first time in 4 months and run 21km at 5 min pace for the first time in months with Marie, Martin, Harrisson, and Niall. All in all an excellent week. Unfortunately, I am now rushing out to watch Ireland play France so I do not have time to wax lyrically about it.

Week Total

  • Number of runs: 6
  • Distance:  101km
  • Time:  10 hours 2 minutes

Monday 20th June

  • RHR : 50
  • HRV: 75
  • Weight: 83.7 kg
  • Run: 100 min MAF Run w/ 8 x 15 sec strides
  • Distance: 16.2km
  • Time: 1 hr 40 mins
  • Average Heart Rate:  138
  • Average Cadence: 172

IMG_4805

It is always good to start the week with a run and although I got home a little late, I pushed myself out the door and ran for 90 minutes. Harrisson has increased my strides from 5 to 8 and instead of timing them I have decided to count my steps. If I run at a cadence of 200, 50 steps should put me at about 15 seconds. I am really enjoying the strides and feel that they are making an improvement.

Tuesday 21st June

  • RHR : 50
  • HRV: 66
  • Weight: 83.9 kg

I was feeling fairly tired tonight and decided to take a rest day.

Wednesday 22nd June

  • RHR : 41
  • HRV: 81
  • Weight: 83.6 kg
  • Run: MAF Test + 8×15 sec Strides (9:33/9:41/9:48/9:53/9:56)
  • Distance: 17.7km
  • Time: 1 hr 50 mins
  • Average Heart Rate:  138
  • Average Cadence: 168

IMG_4816

Wednesday morning I woke to see my RHR down to 41 and my HRV back over 80 so I knew that it would be a good day. As I headed down to the Tamagawa that evening I decided to do a MAF Test again. The results were about the same as the one that I did 2 weeks previous but because the weather was warmer and more humid, I felt satisfied.

Thursday 23rd June

  • RHR : ??
  • HRV: ??
  • Weight: 82.9 kg
  • Run: 90 Min MAF w/ 9 x 15 sec strides
  • Distance: 15.1km
  • Time: 1 hr 33 mins
  • Average Heart Rate:  138
  • Average Cadence: 169

Thursday morning I got up at 5am to watch the second half of Ireland play Italy and enjoyed the goal 4 minutes from time. As I got up to watch the game I forgot to take my RHR and my HRV. I was tired for a lot of the day afterwards but went out and did my MAF run that night along with 9 strides as I seemingly miscounted.

Friday 24th June

  • RHR : 49
  • HRV: 68
  • Weight: 82.8 kg
  • Run: Aerobic
  • Distance: 16.2km
  • Time: 1 hr 39 mins
  • Average Heart Rate:  141
  • Average Cadence: 169

On Friday evening I had a real world appointment so I accepted Jeremy’s invitation to do a repeat of our early morning run. I left my house at 5:20 am and met him on Marukobashi at 6am. We did the same loop up to Futakobashi and it was a great way to start the day.

Saturday 25th June

  • RHR : 46
  • HRV: 79
  • Weight: 83.3 kg
  • Run: 90 Min MAF w/ 8 x 15 sec strides
  • Distance: 15.1km
  • Time: 1 hr 33 mins
  • Average Heart Rate:  140
  • Average Cadence: 170

On Saturday morning I had a real world activity and could not get out to go my run until after 4pm. It was muggy and warm and very hard to maintain MAF. Still I got around the course and managed my strides at the end.

Sunday 26th June

  • RHR : 50
  • HRV: 67
  • Weight: 83.6 kg
  • Run: Upper Aerobic
  • Distance: 21km
  • Time: 1 hr 45 mins
  • Average Heart Rate:  155
  • Average Cadence: 175IMG_4821

I answered a call on the Namban Rengo mailing list and went for a morning run with Marie, Martin, Harrisson and Niall along the Tamagawa. The planned pace was 5:00 ~ 5:10 and we fairly stayed to that all the way out. However, on the way back I started to feel good and pushed it a bit and ran the last 5km at 4:45. Hopefully that means I am starting to get some fitness back.

IMG_4825

After I got home I made myself a great smoothie with grapefruit, lemon, pineapple and turmeric. It seems that a lot of people are now interested in putting turmeric in stuff.

IMG_4827

8 thoughts on “Ohtawara Marathon 2016 Base Training Week 7

  1. I’m very happy to hear that you’re enjoying the strides !!
    Was good to see you today !
    ( sorry for the football 🙂 )
    Let me know about the new strength exercise.

Leave a Reply

