Chiba Marine Half Marathon 18th January 2015

Today I ran the Chiba  Marine Half Marathon in 1:32:00. I only just realized that this is my first half marathon since last year’s Chiba Marine. Today was a gorgeous sunny day but too windy. The wind was coming in from the west which meant that the second half of the race was nearly entirely into the wind. The part from 10km to 12km and 19 km to 20km was particularly and I was almost crawling along. However, I was prepared for this and ran the first 8km as fast as I could. My target tome was 1:30 and after 8km I was over a minute to the good of that. Over as soon as I turned the corner at the 10km point, my pace dropped from 4:20 to 4:40 and it was a war of attrition to the end. However I did enjoy the race immensely, particularly the wonderful view of Mt. Fuji.

My next race is the Nagano Marathon and I start my 12 week training program on 26th January, with a rest day.

The Weather

The Weather

Clear Blue Sky

Clear Blue Sky

Staying warm

Staying warm

Before the race

Before the race

The Result

The Result

6 thoughts on “Chiba Marine Half Marathon 18th January 2015

  1. Damn good effort considering training has not started yet for the Marathon.
    Good to see ‘ The Blog ‘ is back.
    Forget about looking at Mountains whilst you run. 🙂

Leave a Reply

