Week 2

Week 2 was a little better that Week 1. At least I managed to get out to run 5 times and reach over 80km, which is good in this heat. I also managed to get Michael out running another 4 times and he took 3:24 off his 5.3km PB on Saturday after I bought him a new pair of running shoes.

The weekly summary:

Week 2

IMG_1675

On Tuesday I got out for what was intended to be an easy run. However, as I had not run for a few days I felt fresh and took off down the Tamagawa. I managed several good splits so I ended up calling it a tempo run. I was sufficiently tired the next day to not do it again.

 

As you can see there has been no improvement in weight loss but that is probably because I have been enjoying myself too much.  On Thursday I had my Welcome Party at work and enjoyed some great steak. OK I did not eat it all but I had enough along with some nice wine to see my HRV drop the following morning.

I am back measuring my Resting Heart Rate and HRV every morning with my ithlete. For my last marathon attempt I was using both ithlete and Sweetbeat and while I thought that Sweetbeat was very good, it seemed to take a long time to sync and take a reading so if I was pushed for time I would give it a miss. This time I will keep it simple and hopefully not miss too many readings.

 

 

 

 

IMG_1682On Friday I got home from work to find my new Garmin Forerunner 220 waiting for me. Hurray! My 405 was still working but I felt it was not going to last much longer and decided to splash out. Anyway, a new piece of hardware is always good motivation for a bit of running. I gave the 405 to Michael and we set out on our by now standard 5.3 neighbourhood run. The only downside that I have regarding the FR 220 is that I have not been able to get Bluetooth to work and to sync it to the iPhone Garmin Connect Mobile app and my iMac. There have been loads written on the Garmin Forum about this but it seems that all known issues have been sorted. If anybody knows something about this please leave a comment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hill Repeats 15th August

Hill Repeats 15th August

When we finished the 5.3km run, I went back out and did the week’s prescribed Hill Repeats. The program calls for 8 – 10 Long Hill Repeats but I could not remember what a Long Hill Repeat was. I settled on 700m as that seems fairly long to me and my previous longest is 600m. Initially I thought that I could do all 10 but it quickly became evident that I could not and just did 8.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1676

 

Saturday morning was a scorcher. I started running just after 8am and it was already approaching 30 degrees Celsius.  I had thought that I would do my regular 12.4km run but I had to turn back just after 5km and managed 11km altogether. In the afternoon we got Michael his new running shoes and headed out for his 35:10 PB for 5.3km. He ran consistently, keeping all the 1km splits under 7 min which is something he has never done before. On Saturday evening we dined on lots of good vegetables which is a great thing about Japan. The quality of the food is good if not inexpensive. My sister-in-law came over and brought a selection of beers from her travels throughout Japan, including one delicious one from Ireland.

Murphy’s from Cork Ireland

Murphy’s from Cork Ireland

Shikoku Beer

Shikoku Beer

Niigata Beer

Niigata Beer

Sapporo Beer from Hokkaido

Sapporo Beer from Hokkaido

 

More Niigata Beer

More Niigata Beer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1683

As a result I was not keen on getting up early on Sunday morning and had a lie in until 9:30 which may be the longest I have ever had in my life. I was thinking of putting off all running until evening as it was getting hot outside when the door bell rang and it was the friendly postman. He brought the other half of my present – The Mio Link heart rate monitor. If you have been reading this blog this last year well

1. you might want to get out more and

2. you will remember that I got my friend Mayumi to bring me over the Mio Alpha from the US.

At the time Mio did not ship internationally and the Mio Alpha only synced via Bluetooth so it was only good for my iPhone. A few months ago Coach Stan made me aware of the new Mio Link which syncs with ANt+ and Bluetooth so it can be used with my Garmin and hence my cunning plan was complete. So out the door myself and Michael went in the mid day heat and did our 5.3km course. The McMillan plan had called for me to run 90 – 105 mins so I then set off for the Tamagawa and ran 16.3km. It was pretty hot and I drank a lot on the run. I think that I will need to get used to this for a few more months before it cools down again. Damn you Global Warming!

I am happy now that I have all the equipment in place. I bought my new ASIC Tartar Zeals last month. The old Tartars had given me more than 2000km and did not look like they had a lot more in them.

Old and New Asics Tartars

Old and New Asics Tartars

So there you have it. Week 1 and Week 2 done, sort of. Week 3 to come. Stay tuned, whoever you are.

Plan vs Actual to date

Plan vs Actual to date

 

5 thoughts on “Week 2

  1. Poor Michael! do they not have social services over there? btw, 9:30 is not close to being the longest lie in of your life.#tenornone

Leave a Reply

