Week 13 2nd to 8th September

Runs           4

Distance    46.9 km
Weight       78.0kg
Highlights
I think that it is fair to say that this was not a particularly good week, as illustrated by the lack of a long run. I thought that things were going OK until Friday morning when I had done 3 fast, but short, sessions and I felt I was moving in the right direction with regard to my next phase of the training. On Saturday I went to my chiropractor for the first time this year and asked him take a look at some of the niggles in my left leg. There was nothing that I was particularly worried about but I thought that it would be good to sort them out now and I left feeling good.
I had planned to do my long run on Saturday evening, but it went all pear shaped right away. All summer I had been trying to keep my heart rate under 140, but I had now decided to move it into the 140 to 150 zone as I was getting closer to the race. I don’t know if that was the reason or not, but right I way I did not feel good and I only managed to complete half the planned distance.

I planned to have another go on Sunday, but I still felt no good in the morning and my HRV told be as much with a 10 point drop, so I decided to take a rest day.
IMG_2215
Hopefully, things will improve from Tuesday after 2 rest days.
Tuesday LT Run             5.3 km (3km at Lactate Threshold)
Wednesday Track         11.1 km (6 x 1000m Intervals)
Friday MPS                      14.1 km (5km at Marathon Pace)
Saturday Aerobic          16.4 km
9 thoughts on “Week 13 2nd to 8th September

  1. I guess you needed this week easy after your amazing past weeks. As far as I am familiar with HRV, a level of 100 is extremely good.

  2. I’m not familiar with the HRV metric, Podge, so can’t offer advice on that, but I do think you might have done just a bit too much fast stuff in one week. I would also posit that if you were deliberately trying to push your long run to a higher heart rate early on in the run, the required pace would have been substantially higher than recent long runs because it was also somewhat cooler, meaning you’d have to have had to work harder to get your HR up. As a general comment without considering your overall plan, I’d say always keep the first half of your long runs easy and comfortable. The training effect doesn’t start until you hit about 2+ hours into the run. So do be careful not to jeopardize your long runs again. Now that you suddenly have some cooler mornings, see what happens to your pace as you stick to the same heart rates you’ve been doing on your aerobic runs.

  3. Try to do your MAF test again soon on one of these cooler evenings or mornings (which ever you did the previous ones … try to keep it the same). It would be helpful to see how much lift you get from the reduced heat load.

      • Are you feeling decidedly unwell or injured, or is this break a response to the bagged run and HRV data? If the former, fair enough, you have to do what you have to do. If the latter, I would suggest that it is an over-reaction. You still need to get out for some easy runs and keep things ticking over. Your body will still recover under a less stressful workload, but the light running ensures you won’t go backwards either. Take too many days off and you’ll fall behind the curve, and perhaps feel the need to over-reach to compensate when you do come back. So don’t be too hard on yourself when runs don’t go as well as you wanted, but don’t be too soft either. This is why I always called marathon training “walking on a knife edge”.

      • Don’t worry Steve, I am not one to get emotional about a screwed run. I just don’t feel too good in general and the pain in hip is there too long to be just soreness. I am going to see how it goes day by day.

      • I didn’t mean it to imply an emotional response. Just excessively-conservative. But from what you say, it sounds like the rest has been fair enough. Still, no better way to test it all out than with an easy 5k 😉

Leave a Reply

